sentinel trilogy

Bibliophile Book Club review of The Sentinel Trilogy

This review was originally published at Bibliophile Book Club.

I have always been a fan of YA and fantasy books so The Sentinel Trilogy really appealed to me. The trilogy comproses of Sentinel, Ruins and Splinter and I am covering all of them in this review. So buckle up buttercup you’re in for one hell of a ride!

In Sentinel we are introduced to 15 year old Nicholas Hallow, the book opens with the death of his parents in a train crash but this was no tragic accident. Nicholas discovers that his parent were Sentinels; an underground society whose job is to protect the world from evil forces. They are guards, detectives and killers. On top of dealing with his grief Nicholas must come to terms with the fact that he is also a Sentinel and on his 16th birthday he would have been initiated into the society. Luckily he has help in navigating his new role and other Sentinels step forward to become his guide including Sam and his godmother Jessica. There are different types of Sentinels and it is revealed that Nicholas is a Sensitive, he can sense when evil is near and has visions.This book is a slow burner, we are learning at the same pace as Nicholas so there feels like a lot of new information is being thrown at you but this is appreciated as the new reality is built. We are introduced to a plethora of malevolent and magical creatures including demons, a talking cat and the star of the horror show – Malika. A flame haired demon hell bent on destruction and power. She is total #demongoals and if I had to choose my favourite big bad she would be it!

Ruins is the second book in the trilogy. Nicholas has come to terms with who he is and what he must do. A war is coming and the Sentinels must gather their forces. Nicholas discovers that he has been prophesied as being a chosen one but also that he is part of a duo. The Trinity (the ancient good guys) foretold that this duo would save the world from The Dark Prophets. The twist is that no one knows who the other chosen one is and there is a race against time to discover them before the bad guys. Of course Malika is hard at work attempting to raise these prophets with the help of a truly terrifying demon called Tortor. Everyone is in danger and Joshua Winning is not averse to putting your favourite characters in mortal peril. Not everyone will survive!

Splinter is the final book and brings everything to an apocalyptic conclusion. Nicholas has his own Scooby gang comprising of Rae (fire starter), Dawn (fountain of knowledge) and Merlyn (a worldy wise Sentinel).They have all grown in the short time they have known each other and it was great to see their friendship bloom. The trilogy is definitely a coming of age story; friends overcoming adversity, discovering themselves and finding love along the way. There are genuinely terrifying moments in these books and it would make a fantastic graphic novel/TV series. I was so invested in all the characters and was genuinely gutted that their story is complete. I loved the climax to Splinter, no spoilers but WOW I was not expecting that! So buy the whole trilogy and lose yourself in this world of Murklings, Harvesters, Hunters and all the demons you can imagine!

You can buy The Sentinel Trilogy on Amazon UK & Amazon US.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s